top of page

North Texas Commission Graduates Seventh Class of Leadership North Texas

May 23, 2016 at 5:00:00 AM

The North Texas Commission graduated the seventh class of Leadership North Texas presented by Oncor on Friday, May 20. Leadership North Texas is a graduate-level, regional leadership program designed to recruit, develop and support leaders who have a commitment to civic engagement and to the North Texas region.

The class of 32 leaders from throughout the region spent nine months learning best practices in regional stewardship, with discussion including education and workforce, regionalism, the North Texas economy, the impact on incarceration, sustainable development, healthcare and transportation.

“A fast-growing region like North Texas needs leaders who aren’t afraid to work across city and county boundaries,” said Marcy Sherman, interim president and CEO of the North Texas Commission. “Leadership North Texas brings individuals from a variety of backgrounds together all with a focus on building a better region and future.”

The graduates of Leadership North Texas Class 7 are the following:

  • Devan Allen

  • Maranda Auzenne, Trademark Property

  • Peter Barwinkel, DFW Airport

  • Debby Bobbitt, City of Rowlett

  • Aaron Bujnowski, Texas Health Resources

  • Mario Canizares, City of Coppell

  • Sherry Carter, DFW Airport

  • Glenn Clingenpeel, Trinity River Authority of Texas

  • Tammy Dana-Bashian, City of Rowlett

  • John Dewar, Freese and Nichols

  • Scott Dunn, City of Richardson

  • Ashley Frosell, CRB

  • Bob Golden, City of Haslet

  • Jaime Grassi, Slalom Consulting

  • Matt Hilton, Step Up Realty

  • Libby Holtmann, City of Plano

  • Scott Johnson, City of Frisco

  • Jamee Jolly, Plano Chamber of Commerce

  • Katie Koberg, World Class Automotive Organization

  • Erin LaPointe, TXU Energy

  • Val Martinez, American Red Cross

  • Carrolyn Moebius, Plano ISD Board of Trustees

  • Cheryl Orr, Dallas Area Rapid Transit

  • Jim Parrish, City of Plano

  • Edward Renteria, Jr., Blue Cross Blue Shield of Texas

  • Angela Ross, AT&T

  • Crystal Scanio, Irving Schools Foundation

  • Monica Shortino, Capital One

  • Wes Speed, Oncor

  • Brandon Steinmann, World Ventures

  • Duncan Webb IV, Collin County Commissioners Court

  • Nancy Yingling, City of Coppell

Recruitment is underway for Leadership North Texas Class 8. Since the program’s inception, more than 200 leaders from across North Texas have participated, including a state representative, numerous mayors and city council members, city managers and economic development professionals, business leaders, higher education executives and nonprofit leaders.

Over a nine-month period, the class addresses and discusses topics such as the history of North Texas, regionalism, our economy, workforce and education, sustainable development, the impact of incarceration and a plan for civic engagement. They learn best practices in regional stewardship from experts and other regions, and explore how to collaborate to best address current regional issues.

The application deadline for Leadership North Texas Class 8 is noon, June 17, 2016. Applications are available online at or through the North Texas Commission office at 972-621-0400. Tuition for the program is $3,000.

Oncor is the Presenting Sponsor for Leadership North Texas.

Established in 1971, the North Texas Commission is a regional non-profit consortium of businesses, cities, counties, chambers of commerce, economic development entities and higher education institutions in the North Texas Region. The North Texas Commission improves the economic vitality, infrastructure and lifestyle of North Texas by marketing the region, promoting collaboration and advocating on critical issues.

bottom of page